Cripple:Mode:Series:J.L.Dobias©2018

POWEREDby|Free website builderuCoz| Hi Guest | Sign Up | Log In |RSS

CMS-Main CMS tumblr COMNET Deviant-CMODE-Art CM-Book-Site J.L. Dobias CM-Twits CMS-FaceBookPage CMS-GoodReads CM-Amazon CMS-Barnes&Noble Xlibris Cripple-Mode-Page JLD-Main Lo-Toxx-Main Xiong-Main

Cripple:Mode:Series:J.L.Dobias©2018

POWEREDby|Free website builderuCoz| Hi Guest | Sign Up | Log In |RSS

Wednesday, 2018-11-14, 2:28 AM

Hello Guest | RSS

~~CRIPPLE:MODE:SERIES~~
~COMNET~

CMS-Main CMS-Main CMS-Main CMS-Main CMS-Main
Cripple-Mode:Series
~Short Bursts of Noise::Punctuated by Eloquent Silences~

Home»
~Welcome to Cripple-Mode~
Publisher » » »
Silence is Golden:Noise is Glorious
Home » Articles » Reviews

Review::Code Breakers Complete Series 1-4 by Colin F. Barnes
Code Breakers Complete Series: Books 1-4Code Breakers Complete Series: Books 1-4 by Colin F. Barnes
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Code Breakers Complete Series 1-4 by Colin F. Barnes

I picked this one up on a special. It looked good and though I have to admit that it wasn't quite what I expected, there were a great number of other things that have caused me to put this on my love to hate list. I wasn't so much expecting a dystopic tale. Just having read John Shirley's A Song Called Youth which is touted as a cyberpunk story, but is more a thriller suspense with cyberpunk leanings. Code Breakers ABGD is more a dystopic tale wrapped around cyberpunk with elements ranging from those familiar to Mary Shelly's Frankenstein all the way to some of Edgar Rice Burroughs' Martian and Venusian series. There were certainly all the tropes for cyberpunk and those classic SFF adventures. A lot of good ideas wrapped in old tropes and unfortunate smatterings of grammatical challenges.

The author appears to be British English and I try to keep that in mind. I've read a wide number of British authors recently and have been training my ear to certain quirky colloquialisms and idioms and even have discussed a few with those authors. With that in mind there is a pet peeve that I still feel a need to mention because it doesn't appear to be universally accepted as good English throughout the realm. This would be the usage of was sat, were sat, was stood and were stood. In all cases I'm used to was sitting, were sitting, was standing, were standing and those others are like fingernails on a chalkboard when I say them out loud. But those are pet peeves and have little if nothing to do with the stars I portion out.

What I'm mostly concerned with is the omitting of words and the subsequent creation of incomplete sentences that leave the reader to fill in the blanks. Such as:

 
Gerry detected a hint of disappointment Jachz’s voice.

Barnes, Colin F. (2015-11-12). Code Breakers Complete Series: Books 1-4 (Kindle Location 3205). Binary Books. Kindle Edition.
 
Sasha had learned from Enna that Cheska a transcendent.

Barnes, Colin F. (2015-11-12). Code Breakers Complete Series: Books 1-4 (Kindle Location 6463). Binary Books. Kindle Edition.


 
If he could feel, he’d have felt exhilarated, such was the speed at which moved.

Barnes, Colin F. (2015-11-12). Code Breakers Complete Series: Books 1-4 (Kindle Location 6788). Binary Books. Kindle Edition.

These are just a random sampling and there are more, but it doesn't stop there because there are words munged together missing spaces between them and places where the t is missing from stay.

or this next::

 
Despite their lack of proper military training and experience, they displayed admirable brave.

Barnes, Colin F. (2015-11-12). Code Breakers Complete Series: Books 1-4 (Kindle Location 6484). Binary Books. Kindle Edition.


I can't help but think they displayed bravery rather than brave.

Still I am forgiving even for those; but there is one spot where my bubble burst when the author was in the middle of a scene and the name of a character who was not in the scene was used in the place of another character and nearly spoiled the up and coming reveal later in that or the next chapter. In case the author cares to fix this it is in location 4250 of my kindle.

Really, though, I enjoyed the series most of the way through and would have loved to give it 4 stars, and since I am giving it 3 stars that is the reason I'm being a bit hard on it. I think that any fan of cyberpunk and fantasy and perhaps those who have read John Shirley should enjoy this book and after stumbling over some of those errors and getting past most everything the first three stories make for a great set.

As to the last book; there is no doubt that it finishes off the series and completes specific threads and further answers some lingering question, so it has a purpose. There were some moments when I almost put it down but for the most part I'm glad I finished it just to wrap up the lives of the few characters who made it through those first three books. Oh...and of course, some of those don't make it through the last book.

There are lots of twists and turns in the plot to surprise the readers; though I have to admit sometimes the feeling of Deus ex Machina is there. It has all the tropes and earmarks found in most dystopic tales and I'll admit that dystopia's are not my favorite or strongest genre. For those who love those and enjoy the cyberpunk elements I think this would be a good addition to their library and looking at the number of 4 and 5 stars reviews there are a good number of people who must have more than enjoyed reading these novels.

The author goes on my to read list for some future enjoyment.

J.L. Dobias

View all my reviews
Category: Reviews | Added by: Lucia (2016-04-21)
Views: 106 | Rating: 0.0/0
Total comments: 0
avatar
Reviews [101]
Book Reviews
Archives [103]
Review Archives
Goodreads [11]
Goodreads Bookshelves
[2015-03-19][Reviews]Review::Guy Erma and Son of ... (0)
[2015-04-17][Reviews]Review::Mark of the Centiped... (0)
[2015-09-25][Reviews]Review::The Outskirter's... (0)
[2017-06-02][Reviews]Review::Demonyka by Mark Hun... (0)
[2015-06-12][Reviews]Review::Earthrise by M.C.A. ... (0)
[2015-05-21]Navel Oranges, Granny Smith ... (0)
[2015-03-11]Yes Virginia::Simon Pure Sci... (0)
[2015-02-10]Cripple-Mode:Series (0)
[2015-02-11]Sites of Interest (0)
[2015-06-11]Circa 1975 [Sketch] Portrait... (0)

Cripple:Mode:Series:J.L.Dobias©2018

POWEREDby|Free website builderuCoz| Hi Guest | Sign Up | Log In |RSS

CMS-Main CMS tumblr COMNET Deviant-CMODE-Art CM-Book-Site J.L. Dobias CM-Twits CMS-FaceBookPage CMS-GoodReads CM-Amazon CMS-Barnes&Noble Xlibris Cripple-Mode-Page JLD-Main Lo-Toxx-Main Xiong-Main

Cripple:Mode:Series:J.L.Dobias©2018

POWEREDby|Free website builderuCoz| Hi Guest | Sign Up | Log In |RSS